GXFF Directory Changes

Several changes to the directory have been made:

New Areas

  • GFF-0437 East Devon Pebblebed Heaths SAC  -Pebblebed Heaths NNR
  • GFF-0438 Waveney and Little Ouse Valley Fens SAC – Blo’ Norton and Thelnetham Fen SSSI
  • GFF-0439 Waveney and Little Ouse Valley Fens SAC – Weston Fen SSSI
  • GFF-0440 Chartley Moss NNR


  • GFF-0162 Is renamed to Waveney and Little Ouse Valley Fens SAC – Redgrave and Lopham Fen NNR/RAMSAR. A further two new references , GFF 0438/9 have been created for SSSIs which form geographically separate parts of the SAC.

GxFF Directory Changes – Scottish NSAs

New Areas & Amendments  -Latest update 9/8/21 

We have completed the process of working through the GMFF Directory, to ensure all Scottish National Scenic Areas (NSAs) are allocated a reference, in some cases existing reference names have been amended to make clear when they include the NSA. There are 40 NSAs in all covering 13% of Scotland’s land mass, so completing this work provides more opportunities for getting out and operating in Scotland’s beautiful countryside.

The following new areas have been allocated a reference:

  • GMFF-0116  Assynt – Coigach NSA
  • GMFF -0117  Fleet Valley NSA
  • GMFF-0118 Eildon and Leaderfoot NSA
  • GMFF-0119 Kintail NSA
  • GMFF-0120 Knapdale NSA
  • GMFF-0121 Shetland NSA
  • GMFF-0122 Knoydart NSA
  • GMFF-0123 Kyle of Tongue NSA
  • GMFF-0124 Kyles of Bute NSA
  • GMFF-0125 Loch na Keal, Isle of Mull NSA
  • GMFF-0126 Loch Rannoch and Glen Lyon NSA
  • GMFF-0127 Loch Sheil NSA
  • GMFF-0128 Loch Tummel NSA
  • GMFF-0129 Lynn of Lorn NSA
  • GMFF-0130 Morar, Moidart and Ardnamurchan NSA
  • GMFF-0131  North-West Sutherland NSA
  • GMFF-0132 River Earn  (Comrie to St Fillans) NSA
  • GMFF-0133 River Tay (Dunkeld) NSA
  • GMFF-0134 Scarba, Lunga and the Garvellachs NSA
  • GMFF-0135 Trotternish NSA
  • GMFF-0136 Upper Tweedale NSA
  • GMFF-0137 The Small Isles NSA
  • GMFF-0138 Glen Affric NSA
  • GMFF-0139 Glen Strathfarrar NSA
  • GMFF-0140 Nith Estuary NSA
  • GMFF-0141 East Stewartry Coast NSA
  • GMFF-0142 Dornoch Firth NSA

Changes also made to:

  • GMFF-0001 Cairngorms National Park – name changed to Cairngorms NP and NSA to reflect inclusion of the Cairngorms Mountains NSA
  • GMFF-0002 Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park and NSAs name changed to reflect inclusion of the 2 NSAs within the Park Boundary
  • GMFF -0061  St Kilda NSA, NNR and WHS  name changed reflect inclusion of the NS
  • GMFF-0107 Cuillins SPA becomes Cuillans SPA- Cuillin Hills NSA (Isle of Skye) to reflect inclusion of NSA